Faceless


In every story that I’ve ever written, none of my characters have a face. I thought that I was the only one with this problem, but recently, one of my close friends and I were talking, and she informed me that when she wrote stories, she could never see their faces. I was shocked that she experienced that problem too.

It doesn’t matter whether it is a story in my head or a story on paper, I can never imagine their faces (with the exception of when one of my characters is an actor from a movie that I have just watched) The closest that I can get to their face is their hair, and sometimes not even that!

This is a random pic I found off of the internet;

That is how my characters look in my head, only the blur is just on the face.

Anyone else have a similer problem?

One response to “Faceless

  1. Yes, definitely. But I suppose that it’s not so much that I don’t know their faces as that it reflects how I remember people. I could describe my husband or my mom or a close friend to someone, but I don’t picture their faces so much when I think of them. What I see in my mind instead is almost like an impressionistic painter’s version of them. It’s more feelings and distinctive features like my brother’s button nose or my husband’s freckles as opposed to an image of their whole faces. Here I thought that this was a sort of odd idea and that no one else really thought that way. : )

Leave a Reply Please!! :D

