Trapped, Chapter 2


I stood awkwardly, unsure of what to do. I thought that maybe I should unpack my two bags but I felt weird doing it while a little girl cried.
The door burst open making me jump. I watched as two girls stepped into the room with pale faces.
“That was close-” The first girl began but then was cut off by the second girl saying,
“Hush!” She looked at Brooke, then at me, then back at Brooke.
The first girl however, ran directly to Brooke and patted her arm. “What happened?” She asked Jade.
Jade whispered, “Later” and walked Brooke over to one of the beds and began talking to her.
The second girl looked at me. She didn’t say anything but her face obviously showed that she was wondering who I was.
“I’m Piper. This is my first day, I’m new.” I bit my lip as she stared at me.
The first girl, however, walked up to me and gave me a hug. “I’m Rose! Nice to meet you! So, how did you end up getting here?”
I opened my mouth to say something but the second girl cut her off. “Lets wait to talk until after Brooke calms down, that way we can all hear the story.”
I explained what had happened with Brooke and by the time I was finished, Jade had managed to calm Brooke down and they walked over to us.
Jade gave me a smile. “Sorry that happened on your first night here. Did you guys get introduced yet?”
Rose turned and looked at the only girl in the room who’s name I didn’t know. The girl turned towards me and said, “Oops, sorry about that. My name is Carli James and I am 13.”
Rose added, “I’m 13 too!”
Jade nodded, “Same here.”
Brooke looked down at her feet, embarrassed. “I’m eight. I’m the youngest in the entire school.”
I gave her a half smile. “It’s okay, nice to meet you guys. I’m 13, I just had my birthday in June.”
I looked at Jade and told her, “My mom isn’t dead. I don’t know why Miss Gregory said she was.”
Jade sat down on the floor and motioned for us to sit down with her. “Well if she isn’t dead, then how did you get here?”
I took a deep breath and began my story.
* We are seeing her flashback but she is telling the story to the girls.
I put another wet cloth on my mother’s head. “How are you feeling mom?” I asked her concerned.
“Better dear, thank you. I need you do to me a favor. Call your uncle and ask him to come over. I need him to be here, just in case.”
“He lives a few hours away mom, why do you need him to come over?” I asked her confused.
“Just trust me okay? Tell him to pack enough for him to stay a month or so.”
“How do you know he will come mom?”
“He will. trust me, he will. I need someone to take care of me. The doctor said that I will be fine in a few weeks but until then, I need someone to take care of me.”
“But mom,” I said shocked, “I’m taking care of you!”
“Maybe I am wrong but I am very worried about this. You will just have to trust me, I know what I am doing. You will find out soon enough.”
I nodded and quickly looked up my Uncle Drake’s phone number. He had tried to get in the army, after all there was a big war going on, but his hands shook some while trying to shoot and he only had one eye so he was declined.
He agreed to come over without asking any questions which surprised me. He said that he and his wife, Aunt Naomi would be coming over as quickly as they could. I went into my mother’s bedroom to tell my mother the news.
“Good. Now you know how the government told us that everyone had to have an emergency bag in case we had to evacuate because of the war? Get mine out from under the bed and put it in your bedroom. Take out all of my clothes from it and bring them back in here.”
I had realized by now that something strange was going on so I decided to go along with it.
After I did as I was told, I waited for my mom to tell me what to do next. “Piper, go to the kitchen and get some crackers, energy bars, and something else that is non perishable and put it in the bottom of the bag.”
I nodded and did as she asked.
“Now zip it up and put it in your closet.”
No sooner had I put the bag in my closet when there was pounding on the door! Before I was able to answer it though, my mom called me in her room, her voice sounding urgent.
She told me, “What ever happens you have to trust me! You may not understand it but you have to trust me!”
I nodded and then ran to answer the door. When I did, a lady was standing there. Later I found out that her name was Miss Gregory.
“Hello dear, I am assuming that your Piper, am I right?” The lady asked me in a pretend smile. It looked really evil.
“Yes’m, how do you know my name?”
“Dear, do you know who I am?” Then she continued without waiting for my answer. “Piper, I am Miss Gregory from Mrs. Hales Boarding School for Girls. You are coming with me.”
“But-”
Suddenly my mother called out to me from her bedroom, “Just go Piper.”
Miss Gregory gave an evil looking smile. “Yes Piper, listen to your mother. Go pack a suitcase or two. You have ten minutes.”
“First tell me why I am going.” I demanded.
“Fine, if you insist. Your mother is no longer allowed to take care of you. She is to sick and your father is in the war. So you are going to boarding school for the next two years until your father comes home from the army. Hurry up.”
I stared in shock and for a moment I was unable to move. Then I realized that I only had ten minutes to pack, and that would be all that I had for two years.

I blinked back tears. I never even got to say goodbye to my mom. Miss Gregory made me leave before I had a chance.

2 responses to “Trapped, Chapter 2

Leave a Reply Please!! :D

